2005 RCGD Fall Lecture Series

 

“Violence and Aggression—Underlying Causes and Psychological Processes”

 

organized by

 

   Rowell Huesmann and Brad Bushman

 

Date

Speaker

University

Title of Presentation

12-Sept

Gene Burnstein,

Rowell Huesmann, and

Brad Bushman

 

 

 

Reception and Introduction to Series

19-Sept

Roy Baumeister

baumeister@psy.fsu.edu

Florida State Univ

 

 

“Does Violence Come from Self-Love or Self-Hate? Narcissism Self-Esteem and Aggression”

26-Sept

Rowell Huesmann

huesmann@umich.edu

University of Michigan

 

 

"Once Aggressive - Always Aggressive:  The Continuity of Aggression throughout the Lifespan and across Generations"

3-Oct

Peter Giancola

aggressive.behavior@uky.edu

University of Kentucky

 

 

“Moderators and mechanisms of the alcohol-aggression relation”

10-Oct

John Archer

jarcher@uclan.ac.uk

University of Central Lancastershire

“Sex differences in partner violence from a cross-cultural perspective”

17-Oct

Fall Break

 

 

24-Oct

Len Berkowitz

lberkowi@facstaff.wisc.edu

University of Wisconsin

 

“On the conceptions of anger in contemporary social psychology”

31-Oct

Brad Bushman

bbushman@umich.edu

University of Michigan

 

 

"Media Effects:  How watching and playing with violence stimulates violence"

7-Nov

Mara Brendgen

brendgen.mara@uqam.ca

University of Quebec at Montreal

 

Genetic influences:  Exact title to be announced

14-Nov

Barbara Krahe’

krahe@rz.uni-potsdam.de

Potsdam University

 

 

“Sexual aggression among adolescents and young adults in Germany: Prevalence and risk factors”

21-Nov

Kaj Bjorkqvist

kbjorkqv@abo.fi

 

Abo Akademi

 

 

Indirect aggression: Exact title to be announced

28-Nov

Emil Coccaro

ecoccaro@yoda.bsd.uchicago.edu

University of Chicago

 

 

“Biology and treatment of impulsive aggression”

5-Dec

Sheryl Olson

sloson@umich.edu

University of Michigan

 

 

Development of aggression: Exact title to be announced

12-Dec

Kip Williams

kip@psych.purdue.edu

Indiana University

 

 

“The consequences of ostracism: Pro-or anti-social?”